IPIRP stands for Internet Point and Insurance Reduction Program. Initially known as PIRP, the IPIRP course is the same defensive driving course delivered in an online format.
Yes. This course will reduce your point total by up to four points, depending on when the points were assessed. It will also give you a mandatory 10% automobile insurance discount for 3 years.
No. This course does not require you to pass a final exam to get your certificate.
You must have received the violation and points eighteen months before course completion. Points for earlier violations or future violations will not be affected.
Once you complete the course, we will notify the New York DMV. At that point, it will be entered on your driving record and it will automatically reduce your active point total by up to four points. Important: "Point reduction" means the DMV will not count up to four points on your driving record toward license revocation or suspension.
We will be offering a service for you to pull your driving record at a nominal fee. However, if you need to verify the defensive driving course completion is on your record, you may request a copy of your driving record from the DMV. Click this link for more information and access to the New York DMV form: http://www.safemotorist.com/NewYork/Driving_Records.aspx?language=en
We will send you a certificate of completion when you graduate via the delivery method you choose. If you present this certificate of completion to your insurance company or agent within 90 days after course completion, your liability and collision premium reduction will begin immediately. This reduction will actually be retroactive to the date you completed the course.
If you present your certificate more than 90 days after course completion, your insurer could issue the premium discount effective from the date presented.
You may take the course once every 36 months to keep your insurance reduction benefits.
The discount can be applied to only one driver for each covered vehicle. The insurance reduction applies to all motor vehicles principally operated by the motorist who completes the course.
In order to prevent suspension of driver's license, you need to respond to the ticket. There should be information on the back of the ticket that will instruct you on how to proceed.
You can answer most DMV Traffic Violations Bureau (TVB) traffic tickets online. Please visit this site for further information or to enter pleas, appeal a ticket, etc. http://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/transact.htm#tvb
Please note the DMV Traffic Violations Bureau (TVB) only handles non-criminal moving violations that occur in:
On the back of the ticket are instructions on how to plead. You can plead not guilty, fill out the requested information and sign it within 15 days of the recorded violation. The DMV will then send you a letter telling you when and where to go for your hearing.
If you plead guilty, fill out the requested information, mark guilty and sign it. You have to mail it within 15 days of the recorded violation. You can mail your payment in with the ticket or bring your payment to any TVB office.
For more information about how to plead, hearings and appeals, visit:
Upon notification from the traffic court or TVB, the DMV will suspend your driver license until you respond to the ticket pay the fine, or pay the mandatory surcharge. This is not equivalent to a guilty finding on the ticket.
To remove the suspension, you are required to pay the ticket, fine, or mandatory surcharge. You must also pay the suspension termination fee of $35 to the traffic court or the TVB. Contact the traffic court or TVB to remove these suspensions.
If you continue to ignore the ticket after you received a suspension from a TVB for failure to respond to the ticket, you will receive a default conviction. The default conviction is equivalent to a guilty finding. The DMV then suspends your driver license for your failure to pay the fine. To remove a default conviction from a TVB, you must pay the suspension termination fees.
The DMV does not handle parking violations or regulate parking. You must contact your city, town or village for questions about parking tickets, violations or rules.
Below is the system used by the NYS DMV to identify drivers according to what violations they committed during a specific time period.
Mph over speed limit
|1 to 10||3|
|11 to 20||4|
|21 to 30||6|
|31 to 40||8|
|More than 40||11|
|Failure to stop for a School Bus||5|
|Following too closely (tailgating)||4|
|Inadequate Brakes (while driving employer's vehicle)||2|
|Failing to Yield Right-Of-Way||3|
|Violation Involving Traffic Signal, Stop Sign, or Yield Sign||3|
|Railroad Crossing Violation||3|
|Improper Passing or Lane Use||3|
|Leaving scene of an incident involving property damage or injury to an animal||3|
|Safety restraint violation involving person under 16||3|
|Any other moving violation||2|